Marketing Strategy:

Marketing involves finding out the needs of your customers, then delivering a service to them, which matches these needs.

As David Parrish says, “Successful creative enterprises are truly customer-focused, not in the sense of putting customers in their sights (as if firing products at them), but putting the customer at the centre of their universe so that their entire business revolves around them.” (Parrish. 2005. Pg 1) My Marketing strategy will show that I am customer-focused company, as this is what makes a business work.

Once I have established the needs of my customers, I will then move on to looking at how Locally Social will be promoted. As Seth Godin says, “Among the people who might buy your product, most will never hear about it.” (Godin. 2002. Pg 11) This is true, which is why I am creating this marketing strategy to reach as many potential customers as possible. He goes on to discuss that most people won’t buy your product. “Either they don’t have the money, they don’t have the time, or they don’t want it.” I will be working hard to provide a service at a competitive price which fits in with the time my customers have.

According to ‘Red Bee White’, the first principle of having an effective content strategy is to be clear about your editorial position. They believe, “Having a core message, value, or positioning that informs all of your content output is as important for content strategy as it is for ad campaigns.” (Red Bee White. 2014. Pg 2) It is essential to ensure I make Locally Social stand out in front of the other Social Media Consultancies and keep my business in the audience’s mind.

Stage one: Marketing Mix

marketing-mix

Stage two: Research

According to We Are Social 2016, the amount of internet users in the world is constantly rising and is increasing by roughly 100 people every 10 seconds. Social Media is growing rapidly but with certain ages in particular.

In January 2016, there were 2.307 billion active Social Media users.

38 Million are from the UK.

59% of the UK population are active Social Media users.

Only 39% of Facebook users in the UK are aged 40 and over. The majority are aged 20-29.

I will be conducting more further research which will include both desk and field whilst examining the industry as well as my target audience.

Desk and Field research table .png

After completing some initial research I am able to carry out SWOT and PEST analysis of Locally Social.

swotpest

Stage three: Goals & Objectives

My first goal is to find out if people who didn’t grow up with Social Media would want to attend a class.

SPECIFIC: Do they want to attend a class?

MEASURABLE: Will they be at the class and create Social Media accounts.

ACHIEVABLE: Send a survey out to my target audience.

REALISTIC: Contact people over the age of 40 (these are the people who are less likely to be on Social Media)

TIME BOUND: Have an secure audience by January 2017

My second goal is to find out it small business owners would be interested in my service.

SPECIFIC: Do they want to attend a class?

MEASURABLE: Will they be at the class and create Social Media accounts.

ACHIEVABLE: Send emails to business owners in Cardiff to ask if my service is something they would be interested in.

REALISTIC: Contact small business owners rather then large business owners.

TIME BOUND: Have an secure audience by January 2017

If I receive good results from these surveys, I will continue with the next stage of my marketing plan.

Stage four: Marketing

This stage will discuss the actions I will take in order to launch Locally Social. As talked about previously, RED BEE WHITE says, being clear about your editorial position is essential. My aim is to ensure my content stands out and stay’s in the audience’s head. I will also be understanding the art of scheduling. Many of my customers will be working so posting content during the day could be useless. I will post early in the morning, then after 6pm as I think this will be my peak time.

I have started to think about how I am going to market my business. I have created a three-month schedule along with the gantt chart I made previously, in order to stay on top of my work load and get tasks done on time.

Once I have created and sent out survey’s I can then interview my target audience as well to gather more information. I will then contact venue owners as well as following people on LinkedIn who have good connections with Social Media and businesses in Cardiff.

After this, I will do more research about my competitors as well as reading relevant newspapers articles. Then, I will analyse the primary and secondary data I gather. Finally, I create my website alongside promotional material. Once this is done, I can start to promote Locally Social using the techniques discussed below.

Marketin Plan pic.png

Stage five: Promotion

Advertising – Online (Local Community website) Print (Local newspapers / magazines)

Sales Promotions – Bring a friend to you first class and save 20%. First 3 people to sign up get their first week for 30% off.

Print – Posters, Flyers, Business Cards

Online Marketing – Website, Social Media (LinkedIn will be best for business owners. Facebook & Twitter in case I can reach additional people on there)

Check back soon to see how the marketing is going!

Leave a Reply

